UFC on Fox 2

Let’s talk about UFC on Fox 2. The main event features a three-round fight between light-heavyweights Rashad Evans (18-1-1, 11-1-1 UFC) and Phil “Mr. Wonderful” Davis (9-0, 5-0 UFC). The co-main event is a middleweight scrap between contenders Michael “The Count” Bisping (22-3, 11-3 UFC) and Chael Sonnen (26-11-1, 5-4 UFC). The first bout to be aired on the main card is another middleweight battle between Demian Maia (16-3, 9-3 UFC) and Chris Weidman (7-0, 3-0 UFC).

The truth of the matter is that the card is pretty decent but for all intents and purposes, all eyes are on the main event and co-main event with good reason. Both bouts feature fighters that people are most interested in and both fights have title implications. Rashad Evans has been gunning for his chance at light-heavyweight champion, and former training partner, Jon “Bones Jones (15-1, 9-1 UFC) while Phil Davis is seen by some as the only legitimate thread to Bones’ title. Michael Bisping has been longing for a shot at the middleweight belt presently held by Anderson “The Spider” Silva (31-4, 14-0 UFC) while Chael Sonnen is the only man in the UFC to very nearly defeat Silva in their title fight back in 2010 at UFC 117.

The fight between Evans and Davis is a curious one because from where I’m coming from, I almost see two fighters that are mirror images of each other, in a way. Davis is a very good grappler with decent striking and almost seems like a younger version of Evans. It goes without saying that Evans is the more experienced fighter and is a former champion so psychologically, that gives him an advantage. Evans’ striking is superior, both in terms of technique and power (who can forget his KO of Chuck Liddell at UFC 88?) As much as I want Davis to win because I tend to root for underdogs, it’s likely he’ll get past Evans. Davis’ striking is very rudimentary and while he does possess the better wrestling credentials, he telegraphs his shots rather than setting them up with strikes. If he is able to get Evans down and can control him on the mat, I see Davis winning by third round submission at best if he can wear Evans out. But a more realistic prediction from me likely sees a 1st round TKO.

Now onto the fight I’m looking forward to more than any other; the co-main event. I don’t like Michael Bisping. In fact, I hate him. He runs his mouth for no good reason and strikes me as a self-centred prick. After seeing his behaviour as a coach on The Ultimate Fighter seasons 9 and 14, I never cared for his trash talk. I respect him as a fighter because he is talented and can hurt people. As a human being though, I can’t stand him. Some people would say the same thing about Chael Sonnen, given his track record of trash talking especially where the country of Brazil is concerned, but unless you’re really touchy and sensitive, you can’t take the guy seriously. At least 50% of what he says is complete nonsense and it makes you laugh. You would also be hard-pressed to find any fight fan that doesn’t want to see a rematch between him and Silva. I see this being an easy grind match at worst, or a second round submission by Sonnen purely because he’s much more aggressive than Bisping and can push a higher pace.

I welcome your thoughts and criticisms.

1 thought on “UFC on Fox 2

  1. Davinder

    Great analysis ! I see Rashad winning, although Mr Wonderful could pull it off with superior Wrestling, I love Chael Sonnen, he is bringing the entertainment of WWE in MMA mixed with his talented fighting. I think Chael will take it over Bisping. The only thing I miss in this fight is all the trash talking that could have been done given if they had more time. I think it will be a tough fight but unless Bisping can pull some BJJ, I think Chael will take him down and do his thing.

    Reply

Leave a comment